Slow Down, Molasses – Walk Into The Sea [REVIEW]

Feathers Cover Art
I wasn’t aware that Prairie independent folk collective Slow Down, Molasses is going to drop their second album “Walk Into The Sea” on March 15, 2011.

The first time I saw them live was back in October of 2009.
Exclaim has dubbed them Broken Social Scene of the prairies.

Walk Into The Sea is their second album and its nine tracks filled with indie folk, alt-country rock tunes.
The band surely has evolved in this album.
More of a sleeker, wall of sound and epic tracks.
It’s a mix between Neil Young and Broken Social Scene.
The albums features special guest like Olenka Krakus from Olenka and the Autumn Lovers and Julie Doiron.

Overall I was impressed with the tracks Sometimes We All Fall Apart, Bodies and Fade Out.
I was also impressed with Late Night Radio which reminds me of vintage Broken Social Scene.

If you like indie folk alt-country rock, this is an album to check out.

Best tracks:

  • Sometimes We All Fall Apart
  • Bodies (feat. Olenka Krakus)
  • Late Night Radio
  • Feathers (feat. Julie Doiron) Get it free on their Bandcamp site.
  • Light
  • Fade Out (feat. Olenka Krakus)
  • Walk Into The Sea

I’d give Walk Into the Sea a 9/10.
Don’t forget the band will be at Raw Sugar Cafe on Wednesday, March 30th.
Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.