Stars – The Five Ghosts (Review)

Review of the album.

Stars released their fifth album appropriately titled “The Five Ghost” on June 21, 2010.
Its the bands first album not to be released on Arts & Crafts, mostly on their label Soft Revolution Records and on Universal Music Canada.
With a band that has been around since 2000, usually by the fifth album there would be chaos (unlike the G20) in the band.
But the band is still together and stronger with this effort on The Five Ghosts.
The big themes in the album is mostly about ghosts and is a bag of mix emotions of happy, sad and anger.
Lost of innocence on “Dead Hearts”.
Mending a relationship on Fixed and death on “I Died So I Could Haunt You” and “The Last Song Ever Written”.
For those disappointed from the Sad Robots EP being somewhat abit mellow and depressing.
This is a step one from the EP with tracks ranging to new wave pop in Wasted Daylight, Fixed and How Much More to ballad tracks in Dead Hearts & Winter Bones.
Nice listening to Torq and Amy sing together, its like they are singing a story to the audience.
The only thing missing on The Five Ghosts is from the last album In Our Bedroom After The War.
The title track was the most standout and epic. Which I am saying there is no track that is one big epic song.

Overall the album is brilliant.
Its a mixed of Set Yourself On Fire and In Our Bedroom After the War.

Best tracks:

  • Dead Hearts
  • [audio:]
  • Wasted Daylight
  • [audio:]
  • I Died So I Could Haunt You
  • Fixed
  • He Dreams He’s Awake (So reminds me of a Kate Bush song)
  • The Passenger
  • The Last Song Ever Written
  • How Much More
  • Winter Bones
  • The Five Ghost (On the Senace EP)

Censored version

Uncensored version

If I rate this, it would be 10/10.
Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.