The Acorn – No Ghost (Review)

Apparently the new Acorn’s album was released digitally on iTunes this week.
“No Ghost” is the third full-length album by Ottawa’s The Acorn.
Review of the album.

Ever since “Glory Hope Mountain” was released in 2007.
The longevity of “Glory Hope Mountain” has bought them into the bigger indie spotlight and got them playing in Europe with the likes of Elbow and Fleet Foxes.
Rolf Klausener and Jeff Debutte (Bell High School represents!!!) is so far the original members in The Acorn.
While they have two new members.
This is where I am going to be funny here. So don’t freak on me.
[Its hard to analyze what their style of music the band is. With the title “No Ghost”, its like analyzing the final episode of LOST.]
Joking aside they are a multi-talented band and they deserve alot of credit being in the indie music scene.
No Ghost doesn’t disappoint and its a fine record.
Its more of a heavy rocking album with some softer acoustic tracks like Misplace, On The Line and Slippery When Wet (NO! Not the Bon Jovi cover).
While Cobbled From Dust has abit of the experimental rock glitchy sound.
The theme on the album in my interpretation is about loneliness and moving on.
A superb album from the Ottawa band.

Best tracks:

  • Cobbled From Dust
  • [audio:]
  • Restoration
  • [audio:]
  • Misplaced
  • I Made The Law
  • On The Line
  • No Ghost
  • [audio:]
  • Slippery When Wet
  • Kindling To Cremation

If I rate this, it would be 10/10
Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.