What is Wyrd Distro? [Video]


While music sites that focus on Canadian music seem to be dwindling.
The only site that is still doing it is Weird Canada but they focus on the obscure and underground indie Canadian music (technically “Weird Music” ).
Come February 15th, they will launch Wyrd Distro which is the first ever not-for-profit, online store dedicated entirely to emerging Canadian talent.
Wyrd Distro offers a one-stop-shop where both music fans and record stores can purchase limited editon physical releases and ephemera from Canada’s most exciting new artists and labels.

Check out this video about Wyrd Distro.

no images were found


Full details of venues and performers:

– Saint John, New Brunswick (3:00pm AST)
– Halifax, Nova Scotia (4:00pm AST)
– Moncton, New Brunswick (4:00pm AST)
– Montréal, Québec (3:30pm EST)
– Québec, Québec (3:30pm EST)
– Ottawa, Ontario (4:00pm EST)
– London, Ontario (4:00pm EST)
– Guelph, Ontario (4:00pm EST)
– Toronto, Ontario (4:30pm EST)
– Iqaluit, Nunavut (4:30pm EST)
– Winnipeg, Manitoba (4:00pm CST)
– Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (4:00pm CST)
– Edmonton, Alberta (3:30pm MST)
– Yellowknife, Northwest Territories (4:00pm MST)
– Calgary, Alberta (7:00pm MST)
– Vancouver, British Columbia (3:30pm PST)
– Victoria, British Columbia (4:00pm PST)

THE GRIP IS OUT THERE

PS – These gatherings would not have been possible without the immense work of Weird Canada’s volunteer army. Each event has a lead and they are listed below. Please thank them in person. They are amazing.

PPS – Logo and pattern design by Jenn Kitagawa.

Saint John

– Venue: Backstreet Records (124 Germain) (http://backstreetrecords.blogspot.ca/)
– Artist 1: (learning) (http://learning.bandcamp.com/)
– Artist 2: The Shorty Tubbs (http://theshortytubbs.bwandcamp.com/)
– Artist 3: Stegosaurus (http://sharktoothrecords.bandcamp.com/)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 3:00pm AST / 2:00pm EST
– Organized by: Barb Crawford

Halifax

– Venue: Lost & Found (2383 Agricola)
– Artist 1: Scribbler (http://scribblerband.bandcamp.com/)
– Artist 2: Quaker Parents (http://quakerparents.bandcamp.com/album/no-crime-when-covered-in-grime)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm AST / 3:00pm EST
– Organized by: Rana Ecol & Evan Matthews

Moncton

– Venue: Spin-It Records and Video (467A Main St.)
– Artists: TBD
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm AST
– Organized by: Nick Smith

Montreal

– Venue: Sonorama (260 Bernard O)
– Artist 1: YlangYlang (http://ylangylang.bandcamp.com/)
– Artist 2: Special Noise (http://specialnoise.bandcamp.com/track/snoop-lion)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 3:30pm EST
– Organized by: Christina Bell

Quebec City

– Venue: Le Knock-Out (832 St-Joseph Est)
– Artist 1: Brun Citron (http://bruncitron.com/album/jos-e-nicole-ginette-sandra)
– Artist 2: Machinegun Suzie (http://machinegunsuzie.bandcamp.com/) (Accoustic Set) +
Nicolas Ouellet (Event DJ extraordinaire)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 3:30pm EST
– Organized by: AnneMarie Papillon

Ottawa

– Venue: Pressed (750 Gladstone Ave.)
– Artists: Organ Eyes (http://organeyes.bandcamp.com/)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm EST
– Organized by: Emily McQuarrie & Rachel Weldon

London

– Venue: Grooves Records (353 Clarence)
– Artist 1: A Person Disguised as People (Ian Doig-Phaneuf) (http://a-souvenir.bandcamp.com/)
– Artist 2: I Smell Blood (http://ismellblood.bandcamp.com/)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm EST
– Organized by: Sam Allen

Guelph

– Venue: Silence (46 essex st.)
– Artist 1: CFRU + Silence + (other) radio collage sound installation (http://www.cfru.ca/)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm EST
– Organized by: Javier Fuentes

Toronto

– Venue: June Records (662 College Street) (http://junerecords.ca/)
– Artist 1: Carl Didur (https://soundcloud.com/carl-didur)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:30pm EST
– Organized by: Wavelength + Pavan Brar

Iqaluit

– Venue: TBD
– Artists: TBD
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:30pm EST
– Organized by: Dan Galway

Winnipeg

– Venue: Zed Books (80B Sherbrook St.)
– Artist 1: Solar Coffin (http://dubditchpicnic.bandcamp.com/album/cold-furnace)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm CST / 5:00pm EST
– Organized by: Taylor Burgess

Saskatoon

– Venue: Beaumont Film and Record
– Artist 1: Surely I Come Quickly with Cid Vishnu (http://surelyicomequickly.bandcamp.com/album/life-is-neverending)
– Artist 2: Poler Bear (http://polerbear.bandcamp.com/album/se-d-nouer-3)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm CST / 5:00pm EST
– Organized by: Josh Robinson

Edmonton

– Venue: Listen Records (10443 124 St. NW) (http://listenrecords.net/)
– Artist 1: Pigeon Breeders (http://pigeonbreeders.bandcamp.com/)
– Artist 2: Zebrapulse (http://zebrapulse.bandcamp.com/)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 3:30pm MST / 5:30pm EST
– Organized by: David David Save Ferris

Yellowknife

– Venue: 1002-5300 49th Street.
– Artist 1: Ashley Daw
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm MST
– Organized by: Ashley Daw

Calgary

– Venue: Sloth Records (736 17th Ave SW) (http://slothrecords.wordpress.com/)
– Artist 1: Wicked Healing
– Artist 2: DJ Devin Friesen (Bitter Fictions)
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 7:00pm MST / 9:00pm EST
– Organized by: Paisley Sim

Vancouver

– Venue: Neptoon Records (3561 Main Street) (http://neptoon.com/)
– Artist 1: Sisters of Seance (Luke Rogers of Basketball) (https://soundcloud.com/sisters-of-seance)
– Artist 2: Isolated Now Waves / N.213
– Google+ Hangout w/ Marie & Aaron: 3:30pm PST / 6:30pm EST
– Organized by: Selina Koop

Victoria

– Venue: Cavity Curiosity Shop (http://cavityproductions.ca/) (556b Pandora)
– Artist 1: Cosy Father (http://cosyfather.bandcamp.com/)
– Artist 2: Mark Alexander McIntyre (http://markalexandermcintyre.bandcamp.com/)
– Google+ Hang w/ Marie & Aaron: 4:00pm PST / 7:00pm EST
– Organized by: Johnnie Regalado

Top Canadian Blogs - Top Blogs

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.